List of Critically Endangered Species

Today’s post is dedicated to listing the current species that are under the Critically Endangered (CR) conservation status, according to the World Wildlife Fund

What does Critically Endangered (CR) mean?

A: Critically Endangered (CR) is the conservation status given to a species that face the highest risk of becoming extinct. This means that a species has passed the Vulnerable (VU) status, as well as the Endangered (EN) status. 

Below is the list of the current species under the CR conservation status. I put an asterisk (*) next to those with a population less than 500. 

  • Amur Leopard*
  • Black Rhino
  • Bornean Orangutan
  • Cross River Gorilla*
  • Eastern Lowland Gorilla
  • Hawksbill Turtle
  • Javan Rhino*
  • Malayan Tiger*
  • Mountain Gorilla
  • Orangutan
  • Saola
  • Sumatran Elephant
  • Sumatran Orangutan
  • Sumatran Rhino*
  • Sumatran Tiger*
  • Vaquita*
  • Western Lowland Gorilla
  • Yangtze Finless Porpoise 

The populations of these species are decreasing by the day due to habitat loss, poaching, and overall lack of resources. Fortunately, they are not extinct which means there is still time to act! Speak out on your social media platform, sign petitions, write letters, purchase items that support wildlife conservation (as discussed in my previous post, 5 Amazing Online Shops for Wildlife Conservation), and talk to people in the field! 

There is always something we can do to help these animals before time runs out.

xo nala official








Follow my blog with Bloglovin


1 thought on “List of Critically Endangered Species”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s